Home > How To > Cleaning Computer Keyboard

Cleaning Computer Keyboard

Contents

Start with one corner and move to an adjacent one. I don't remove the keys. You may need to use multiple swabs, depending on the amount of dirt. Saves a lot of time disassembling things and they look like new when done. http://allsoftwarereviews.com/how-to/cleaning-your-keyboard.php

I've only done it on my Mac keyboard so I can't say for other kinds that may have more exposed crevices to clean, but as far as surface cleaning goes that's milo robert 53,928 views 5:53 How to Clean a Dirty Laptop or Desktop Computer - Duration: 13:44. June 1, 2011 Dave As others have mentioned, I'm a big fan of the dishwasher method. Turn the keyboard upside down and tap on it a few times. http://www.pcworld.com/article/249212/how_to_clean_your_keyboard.html

How To Clean A Laptop Keyboard

June 5, 2011 K Smith I quit taking all keys off and washing them and cleaning the keyboard bases for current employees. I usually just get a $10-$20 Logitech keyboard at Newegg, and it holds up great for that long. Transcript The interactive transcript could not be loaded. Howcast 2,006,286 views 2:13 How To Repair Computer Keyboard With Some Keys Not Working - Duration: 6:18.

Get geeky trivia, fun facts, and much more. Simple solutions….. Quick Tip: You can also run a hand-held vacuum over the shell. How To Remove Keys From Keyboard Just slide a piece of tape through the cracks.

November 1, 2011 bsj "worse" November 5, 2011 Telsie Thanks fag you made me break like 5 keys on my new laptop. Then take another and go up and down between keys. Also, removing laptop keys may damage them and they may break or become impossible to replace. see this It’s an easy fix, however.

Suitable cleaning fluid (isopropyl alcohol). Best Way To Clean Computer Keyboard Always ensure the keyboard is completely dry before it is plugged back in, or in the case of a wireless keyboard before the batteries are reinserted. First thing’s first, unplug your keyboard. To comment on this article and other PCWorld content, visit our Facebook page or our Twitter feed.

How To Clean A Laptop Keyboard Without Removing Keys

Tilt the keyboard upside down and shake it to remove any loose debris. http://www.howtogeek.com/65073/how-to-thoroughly-clean-your-keyboard-without-breaking-anything/ Be careful to avoid exposed electronic circuitry when scraping if you are using a cheaper keyboard. How To Clean A Laptop Keyboard Re-soak in all-purpose cleaner and reapply to blade. 7 Repeat until keyboard is clean. How To Clean A Mac Keyboard See the results in the video above.

June 1, 2011 Robert in London I think, given the price of keyboards, I'd be inclined to throw that one away and buy a nice new clean shiny one. this content But not all of us use cheap keyboards. June 9, 2011 don I forgot : 4. Once you've removed the letter keys, you can wash them individually with water and soap, or alcohol, to remove dirt. How To Clean A Mechanical Keyboard

Spilling your soda and getting real sticky keys" June 19, 2011 Carla I can appreciate that its much easier to buy a replacement. But excellent tutorial, HTG! Quick Tip: For future reference, take a photo of your keyboard before you dismantle it. http://allsoftwarereviews.com/how-to/cleaning-a-keyboard.php Thoroughly blow out this area with compressed air, or even a gentle vacuum.

I have a Fancy G-15 and I have taken it in the shower after a few gaming sessions where drinks get spilled on it(Bawls is the worst and hardest to clean). How To Clean A Sticky Keyboard Price is a concern of mine, but value is a bigger one. June 1, 2011 beergas I love the smell of spilled beer in the morning.

And those pictures made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. :3 May 31, 2011 C12ASH13 gag, thanks for the helpful tutorial but wow these images are nasty May 31, 2011

Why bother cleaning a keyboard? As for the pictures.. I don't know how anyone could let their keyboard keys turn brown and not like anything about it!! How To Clean Keyboard Macbook Warnings When spraying compressed air, do not turn the can upside down.

You can clean the removed keys with a toothbrush and some soapy water. Where'd you find those keyboards? Not "expensive," but not cheap either. http://allsoftwarereviews.com/how-to/clean-computer-keyboard.php Best advice: never have beverages above the keyboard and keep the kiddies away. :) June 3, 2011 Findecanor Here are my tips: First, get a proper key puller.

Rebuild the Keyboard As soon as the keys are totally dry, pop them back into place. Not sure what I'll try but am going to work on it. To clean the keys you can wash them in warm water and/or use some cotton swabs. The best solution it's disassemble, please remember how you do it and, stick on the dishwasher alone, e let it in the sun for 3 days with the parts loose.

Sign in to report inappropriate content. I'm as guilty as the next person when it comes to eating over my computer. Step 3: Clean and dry keysRinse the keys individually in fresh water and lay them on a towel to air-dry. TheTarrMan 119,414 views 12:06 How to clean a very dirty PC keyboard - easy and fast way #DIY3 - Duration: 8:31.

Use the cotton bud to clean the sides of the keys as seen in fig 1.1 below. BEFORE removal of the keys cap, take a photo of the keyboard, so you know were all this stuff belong! If you forget the order in which the keys on your keyboard go, simply boot up your computer. Laptops, notebooks and netbooks.

However, I am not lazy and I'm not a slob. If you're lucky, or can have work by a decent sized portable, electric air compressor, then blow out between each row, left-right and up-down.